Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Truffles, Henna as a Mexican Dish

7 Mar

It’s funny how even when I am not baking my world is still occupied by cooking. This weekend, instead of cooking, as I would ordinarily do, I went comparison shopping, which is, as I am sure you are aware, only something you do when you have great plans for massive amounts of cooking.

Like Gaddafi's only tasty

A small army of truffles. Truffle is really a pretty loose term.

My massive amount of cooking calls for 12.5 cups of flour, 15.5 cups of sugar, four pounds of butter, and a pretty impressive 19 cups of confectioner’s sugar.

Who am I trying to kill? Everyone in Atlanta. What am I preparing for? The Atlanta Underground Market, (March 26, subscribe to find out the location!) Why am I whoring this so intensely? Your own dear Flour Child is going to be there, wearing what I’m pretty sure is the the cutest apron ever created, and, more importantly, selling cupcakes!dangling like a chad

So. (Do you see what I did there? It was a literary reference. I’m super classy.) The food auditions for the market are this Saturday. It really is wrong of me to assume that I’ll make the cut, but honestly, it would just be flat depressing to assume otherwise.

But now to the cooking part. To the eating part, because that is the part that I like best. Only not so much in this instance, because, 1. I “made fajitas out of my head” and 2. henna tastes like mud.

Like Wisconsin is coated in anti-union sentiment?

True story about how it's pretty challenging to coat a truffle.

The beginning: I dye my hair. Every other month, I use henna for this. Henna looks a little like chocolate frosting if you’re not paying close attention. I also make chocolate frosting pretty frequently, and sometimes I forget to clean it up.

So it made perfect sense to Joss that when I told him I’d made a chocolate glaze that it was the brown stuff in the bowl on the stove. Fortunately, he asked me why there was saran wrap over it.

My mother came in later in the afternoon and was preparing to stick a spoon into the henna when I turned to her and gasped “No! That would not be delicious!”

Unfortunately, I wasn’t at home when my father found it. He saw it sitting on the stove and thought “that must be frosting!” He stuck his finger in it and tasted it and wondered why it tasted Mexican. Then he wondered why it tasted so terrible.

He quickly realised his mistake. It took me significantly longer to realise mine. You see, whenever I do henna I add a mixture of spices to it, partly because long ago henna lore told me this would change the color, and partly so I don’t smell like mud for a week. I was feeling awfully red when I mixed up this dye. Unfortunately, all the red we had was in the form of spicy things. Red pepper. Cayenne. Chipotle.

In case you were ever wondering what those feel like on your scalp: it is somewhat reminiscent of having ants eat your head off. Or kind of like having someone make fajitas out of your scalp. Neither of which are pleasant.

“Hey Willamae, isn’t this a cooking blog? Like, with recipes?”

“What are you talking about? Of course there are recipes.”

“And aren’t you supposed to write stuff about the recipes up here, not just babble about your weekend?”

“Yeah, whatever.”

Like Twitter painted the world in dissent.

Painting the little suited truffles

In honor of my spicy scalp, and the fact that it was not very sweet at all, I have a sickly sweet recipe for you. My parents hated these. I confess I wasn’t a huge fan. But I know a lot of people who really like cookie dough, and like it even better egg-free and dipped in chocolate, who thought that these were just the cat’s pajamas. So, if you like, nay, love cookie dough, these are the truffles for you. If you don’t like cookie dough, well, don’t blame me if you don’t like these.

Do I even have to TRY and make this political?

Truffles in tuxes!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Truffles
From Love and Olive Oil

Ingredients:
2 1/2 cups all purpose flour
1 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1 cup (2 sticks) butter or margarine, room temperature
3/4 cup granulated sugar
3/4 cup packed brown sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/3 cup milk or soy milk
1 cup mini semi-sweet chocolate chips

14 oz dark chocolate candy coating (or dark chocolate? I used a bit of both.)

Directions:
Beat butter and sugars and in large bowl with electric mixer on medium speed until light and fluffy. Add soymilk and vanilla. Stir in flour, baking soda and salt and mix on low speed (or by hand) until incorporated. Stir in chocolate chips.

Cover and chill dough for 1 hour.

When dough is firm enough to handle (it may help to lightly flour your hands), form dough into 1″ balls and arrange on a baking sheet lined with waxed paper. Place sheets in freezer and let chill for 30 minutes.

Melt chocolate candy coating in a double boiler or in microwave according to package directions. Using forks or a dipping tool, dip cookie balls into candy coating to cover. Tap fork on side of pan to remove any excess coating, and return to waxed paper-lined baking sheets. Chill until set. Store, chilled, in an airtight container for up to 1 week (though good luck making them last that long).

3 Responses to “Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Truffles, Henna as a Mexican Dish”

  1. pf March 8, 2011 at 11:24 am #

    I admit the truffles tasted somewhat better than the henna.

  2. Lisa @ Sweet as Sugar Cookies March 13, 2011 at 4:50 am #

    Mmm, those truffles look good, good, good. I’d like to invite you to stop by and link them up to Sweets for a Saturday. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2011/03/sweets-for-saturday-8.html

  3. yo mama March 13, 2011 at 12:45 pm #

    I did not try to stick a spoon in your henna. I did consider sticking a finger in there, but the stuff looked a little too gucky. . .xx md

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

