Senioritis-proof Key Lime Pie

18 Apr

I don’t want to think about how long it’s been since I’ve even logged onto wordpress. Let’s just say that senioritis hits harder than that girl who smacked me in a fight the other day. (Not that I was fighting. I was just in the way of her hand.) That, and I’ve been sewing.

If I could turn this into a blog about how to make kilts, that would be perfect. Instead I’m going to post a really easy recipe that even a second semester senior could make, because it doesn’t require much in the way of movement, or thought.

I might also post a bunch of really unrelated pictures, because I made this a while ago and may or may not have taken pictures. I’ll have to check.

So, key lime pie is pretty good. That’s what we’re making today. Also, I encourage you to use a store bought graham cracker crust, because hell, why would you ever want to make your own? You wouldn’t. you can buy it premade. how cool is that?

I’m trying to think of a good way to describe how hard senioritis has hit me. Someone else may have put it best “sometimes, I don’t go to sleep because I’m too lazy to put my computer down.” Then another senior chimed in to say “yeah, I just put mine under my pillow so I move less.”

Yeah, so, I looked. I don’t have any pictures. But I bet you know what pie looks like. Also, this pie is good. Pie is awesome. Do it. Or don’t. I can’t really talk. The only reason I went to second period today was so that I might do my homework for third.

I didn’t.

Key Lime Pie

Recipe from Two Peas and Their Pod (They made a pie crust. what.)

1 (14-ounce) can sweetened condensed milk
4 large egg yolks
Zest of 1 large lime
1/2 cup lime juice, from 5 limes

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. In a medium bowl, stir together the graham cracker crumbs, sugar, and melted butter with a fork. Mix until graham cracker crumbs are moist. Press mixture into a 9 inch pie plate or dish. Pat down the bottom and sides. Bake for 12 minutes or until golden brown.

2. While the crust is baking, prepare filling. In a medium bowl, whisk together the sweetened condensed milk and egg yolks. Whisk until well combined. Add in the lime zest, and lime juice. Whisk well. Set mixture aside. It will thicken up as it sits.

3. When the pie crust has cooled to slightly warm or room temperature, pour the lime filling over the pie crust. Bake for 15-17 minutes. Remove from oven and cool on a cooling rack. When cool, chill the pie in the refrigerator. The filling will set up as it cools. Chill for at least one hour before serving.

4. Serve cold.

Serves 8-10


One Response to “Senioritis-proof Key Lime Pie”

  1. Emma April 18, 2011 at 8:47 pm #

    my keylime pie doesn’t even require baking. even easier than this.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

